foodshots

Sambal Oelek

In Sauces and Dips, Vegetables on September 4, 2009 at 9:08 pm

sambal oelek

My mother swears that the second word to have come out of my mouth was ‘lombok’ which means ‘chilies’ in Javanese. Even though my first language is Malay, my maternal grandparents are Javanese – my grandfather left the Indonesian island of Java and set sailed to Malacca for greener pastures. So all their 9 children including my mother were brought up bilingual – Javanese at home and Malay in school … [read more]

From high over happy

Leave a Reply

